Skip to Main Content

ORF Home | Membership | Public Reports | Settlement Overview | Use of ORF Funds

ORF Advisory Council Membership

Del. Samuel Rosenberg
Maryland General Assembly

Samuel I. “Sandy” Rosenberg He has been a member of the House for Delegates since 1983 and currently serves as House chair of the Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review. Sandy is a graduate of City College, Amherst College, and the Columbia University Law School. He co-teaches Legislation at the University of Baltimore Law School and the University of Maryland Law School.

Sen. Dawn Gile
Maryland General Assembly

Sen. Gile was recently elected to the Maryland Senate, representing the 33rd Legislative District (Anne Arundel County). She currently serves on the Senate Finance Committee. Sen. Gile earned her B.A. in 2002 from Rockford University, majoring in psychology. She received her Juris Doctor in 2006 from Loyola University Chicago School of Law and is presently an attorney in private practice. She is also a past president of Military Spouse JD Network and serves on the Board of Trustees for Rockford University.

Emily Keller (Chair)
Special Secretary of Overdose Response
Maryland’s Office of Overdose Response

On February 1, 2023, Emily Keller began her role as Special Secretary of Overdose Response in the Moore-Miller administration. She previously served as Mayor of Hagerstown since being elected in 2020, the first woman to hold the position. Before her term as mayor, Emily served as a councilwoman on the Hagerstown City Council since 2016. She formerly served as the co-chair of Washington Goes Purple, she was a member of the Opioid Senior Policy group in Washington County, and she served on the Board of Directors of the Phoenix Foundation, which opened Maryland’s first recovery high school.

Ryan Moran
Deputy Secretary for Healthcare Financing, Medicaid Director
Medicaid Administration (Maryland Department of Health)

Ryan Moran currently serves as Deputy Secretary for Health Care Financing and Medicaid Director for the Maryland Department of Health. Previously, Ryan served as Chief Executive Officer, Whitman-Walker Health System as well as Assistant Vice President, Care Transformation for MedStar Health’s four hospitals in the Baltimore region. Ryan holds a doctor of public health degree from the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health where his research explored peer recovery specialist interventions to address opioid use.

Erin McMullen
Chief of Staff
Office of the Secretary (Maryland Department of Health)

Erin McMullen MPP, MSN, RN was appointed Chief of Staff at the Maryland Department of Health on February 15, 2023. She previously served as a Principal Analyst at the Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission (MACPAC), where she developed and led the Commission’s behavioral health research agenda. She is a registered nurse and holds a Master of Science in Nursing from the University of Maryland, Baltimore, and a Master’s in Public Policy from American University

Lauren Levy, JD, MPH
Cecil County Health Officer
Maryland Association of Counties Representative

Ms. Levy has served as the Health Officer for Cecil County since 2019. She holds a Master of Public Health degree from the Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health and a Juris Doctor degree from the University of Maryland Carey School of Law.

David Myles, M.D.
Councilmember, City of Rockville
Maryland Municipal League Representative

Dr. Myles, elected in November 2019, is serving his first term as a Rockville councilmember. He completed his pediatrics medical training in Baltimore, at Johns Hopkins Hospital. He first moved to Maryland in 2010, following medical and graduate school at Yale University, and is a proud Morehouse College alumnus. Dr. Myles served three years of active duty in the United States Navy and deployed for seven months on a humanitarian medical mission providing pediatric care in Central and South America. In 2016, on completion of that active-duty assignment, he returned to Rockville. Dr. Myles worked previously as a pediatrician in an emergency department in rural Maryland — an experience that prompted him to join Montgomery County’s Mental Health Advisory Committee as a physician representative. He currently works full-time as a general pediatrician at Walter Reed National Military Medical Center.

Howard Ashkin, MMH, PsA
Director of Admissions and Community Engagement
MedMark Treatment Centers / Glass Health Programs, Inc.

Mr. Ashkin is the director of admissions and community engagement with MedMark Treatment Centers and Glass Health Programs, Inc. Mr. Ashkin is a licensed Psychiatrist Assistant with a 40-year history of clinical, administrative, and management services in behavioral healthcare settings, including outpatient and inpatient psychiatry services, Emergency Department, 24 hour Call Center and since 2001, MedMark Treatment Centers Opioid Treatment Programs. Askin earned a Master’s in Mental Health (MMH) from the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine’s Department of Psychiatry in 1981.

Meghan O’Brien Westwood, MSW, LCSW-C
Executive Director
Maryland Treatment Centers, Inc.

Ms. Westwood is the executive director of Maryland Treatment Centers, Inc. In this role, she oversees a full continuum of Substance Use Disorder Treatment Services throughout central Maryland. She currently serves on Montgomery County’s Overdose Fatality Review Team and Overdose Intervention Team. She earned her Master’s Degree in Social Work from Catholic University in 1993.

Marcus D. Webster II
Children & Youth Program Manager
Ashley Addiction Treatment Centers Adolescent Clubhouse

Mr. Webster is a graduate of Allegheny College in Meadville, PA. He has served as the Crisis Intervention Team Specialist for Eastern Shore Crisis Response Services in Cecil County, as the Program Advocate for Voices of Hope, a member of the Board of Session for Grove Presbyterian Church, and as the Building Association President for the Beta Chi Chapter of Theta Chi Fraternity.

Carlos Hardy
Founder and CEO
Maryland Recovery Organization Connecting Communities

Mr. Hardy is the founder and chief executive officer of Maryland Recovery Organization Connecting Communities. Hardy previously served as the program director of Dee’s Place, a wellness and recovery center located in East Baltimore, and as the leader of the Maryland Chapter of the National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence (NCADD-MD).

Patricia A. Smith
The Journey Home Women’s Recovery Home

Ms. Smith is the founder of the Journey Home Women’s Recovery Home. She is an individual in long-term recovery and a Certified Peer Recovery Coach. She previously served as a recovery coach for the Charles County Circuit Court’s Family Recovery Court and as an addictions counselor at the St. Mary’s County Detention Center. She has also provided post-overdose outreach services through the Anne Arundel Medical Center Emergency Room and is qualified as a Recovery Residence Field Assessor through the Behavioral Health Administration.